The Tuscan Archipelago is made up of a group of seven larger islands (Gorgona, Capraia, Elba, Pianosa, Montecristo, Giglio and Giannutri) of which the largest is the island of Elba, as well as some smaller islands (Palmaiola, Cerboli and Formiche di Grosseto); arid and rocky, the islands are located between mainland Tuscany and Corsica. The archipelago is surrounded by four seas: the Ligurian Sea north of Elba, the Piombino Channel to the east, the Tyrrhenian Sea to the south, and the Strait of Corsica off the west coast of Elba.